A good line from _On Beauty_

A good joke depends on its punchline, and a good comic sentence in a novel relies on its last word. One good example is the Michael Chabon sentence I quoted last week. Another is a great sentence from a New York Times magazine piece by the not-widely-enough-beloved Matthew Klam:

In Boston, the day before the convention started and after a long, glittering night following the Wonkette to fancy parties, I came back late and found Josh Marshall in my hotel room, lying sideways on a cot, blogging.

And here’s one from the book I’m reading right now, On Beauty by Zadie Smith. I have an annoying habit of avoiding looking at things that are very heavily promoted as being great. I never saw Pulp Fiction or read anything by Jonathan Safran Foer or Dave Eggers. But often things are heavily promoted as being great because they are great! So it is with Zadie Smith, it turns out. Anyway, here’s a winner of a sentence:

“But you’ve already privileged the term,” says the professor’s daughter, whom Katie, who is not given easily to hatred, hates.”

[some sentences about why I like the last words of these three sentences deleted because I didn't see how to say anything on this topic in a way that interested me more than pressing on reading On Beauty.]

2 thoughts on “A good line from _On Beauty_

  1. Em says:

    I’m guessing you didn’t read White Teeth? I thoroughly enjoyed it. And for that matter, Pulp Fiction was pretty good too.

    But I am inclined to agree with you about things that get overhyped, but I usually use that as I a reason to avoid stuff I know is crap anyway, like Titanic.

  2. Daniel says:

    I actually saw Pulp Fiction for the first time recently. Some things, like that movie, are said to be good because they are good, but I agree that other things are said to be good when they aren’t. I definitely don’t trust the opinion of the general population of if a movie/book is good, so I generally wait until several friends who have similar tastes to me mention something being good.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 560 other followers

