Shared music naivete

Blogging from the College Library at Helen C. White Hall, where I like to work sometimes. One of its charms is that there’s always a wide selection of shared iTunes libraries, so I can listen to music selected by some brain other than my own. (Right now: “Dream On,” by Aerosmith, from a library heavy on the rap-metal. I may soon be hearing Hoobastank for, as far as I know, the first time.) Question: what exactly does this mean? Are the people whose music I can see right here with me in the cafe? Do they know I’m listening to their music? Is there some reason I shouldn’t share my own library when I’m working in here?

Update:  One annoying thing about listening to college students’ shared libraries on shuffle is the podcasts of their classes which pop up from time to time.  Also, Hoobastank is awful.

3 thoughts on “Shared music naivete

  1. Em says:

    The only reason I can think of not to share is if you don’t feel like releasing music you have created or other personal stuff that may be in your iTunes.

  2. Toby says:

    It means they are on the same network as you – so probably in the same cafe. In a university they might well be further away than that. They don’t, I think, know that you’re listening.

  3. JSE says:

    Actually, I think that’s only partially so — reassured by Emily, I shared my own library, and there is a place in the Preferences box where it tells you how many people are listening to your library (though nothing about who they are.)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 588 other followers

