My God, it’s full of stars

A light snow fell all day in Madison. And it was sparkly. In the air, and on the ground, too, like flecks of mica in the pavement.

I’ve never seen snow do this. Is it because it gets so cold here? The high today was 16 degrees. I’ve heard people say it can be too cold to snow. That must be pretty cold.

Of course, I should have made checking the Straight Dope my first step. According to the all-knowing Cecil, what I saw was called diamond dust. Sources differ as to what precisely constitutes diamond dust, but it seems pretty clear it’s the stuff that sparkles when it’s well below freezing, and still snowing. Like today. Bring on April.

Tagged , ,

One thought on “My God, it’s full of stars

  1. Daniel says:

    Yeah, I noticed that earlier today as well. I think it happens periodically, but it’s generally not quite as sparkly.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 540 other followers

