What do you do when you find an unknown button?

I found a little white button in the front pocket of my backpack. I must have stuck it in there when it fell off of whatever it fell off of. What that might be, I have no idea. So what do you do when you find an unknown button? Do you throw it out? Or do you worry that you might put on a shirt one day, notice a button is missing, realize it was the unknown button, and then curse your short-sightedness at having thrown away an article that you clearly needed for something?

As for me, I stuck it back in my backpack. It wasn’t hurting anyone.

Tagged , ,

3 thoughts on “What do you do when you find an unknown button?

  1. Richard Kent says:

    This would be a good time to start a button jar.

  2. John Cowan says:

    I put it in the Button Bucket, which stands (wrapped in a plastic grocery bag to avoid accidents) underneath a chair, right next to my cable modem. When a button is needed, the Button Bucket almost always coughs one up — it’s been in use in my family for more than 30 years.

  3. Jason Starr says:

    When I read the title of your post, I thought “unknown button” meant a button to push, like the “do not push this button” button from Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy. Have you ever found one of those unknown buttons? What would you do if you found one?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 557 other followers

