China Forbes and Hi-Fives All Around!

Reunion season is the perfect time to advertise the most successful rock stars among my Harvard classmates, China Forbes and Tom Lauderdale of the neo-lounge orchestra Pink Martini. China (actually in the class above me) has a new solo record out; you can listen to the great single, “Everybody Needs Somebody,” on her myspace page. Would she be annoyed to hear that I think it sounds like Sheryl Crow? But like Sheryl Crow in the best of all conceivable Sheryl Crow – related scenarios, is what I’m saying.

(Technical question: I was unable to upload to the blog the .mp3 of this song, which came to me free on a Paste magazine sampler. Who’s forbidding this operation — WordPress, iTunes, or someone else?)

I’m also liking Toronto two-man indie band Hi-Fives All Around! You can get a good sense of their sound from the grand “What Happened To Being Polite?” , which like the last song I find myself unable to embed in this post. Big drums, changing tempos, plantive vocals. Who doesn’t like this?

Tagged , , ,

2 thoughts on “China Forbes and Hi-Fives All Around!

  1. Em says:

    I will check out the Paste sampler. FYI, if you really want to upload it, the song is probably already out there for the taking.

    Also, I think Hi-Fives all around is a great name for a band.

  2. Dirty Davey says:

    True example from a reunion: two accomplishments that sound much better separately than together:

    (1) My band just released our fifth album!

    (2) I have my own record label!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 560 other followers

