The superintendent’s writing awards, Adam Ostrow, and me

I’m at my parents’ house, looking through Adventures in Writing, a collection of winners of the 1987 Superintendent’s Writing Awards from the Montgomery County Public Schools. My 10th grade self is represented here by a very earnest essay on The Glass Menagerie (big finish: “Either way, the contrast provides an effective comment on society.”)

I flipped through the table of contents hoping to find famous writers of today; the biggest name I came across was Adam Ostrow, now editor-in-chief of Mashable, then a sophomore at Gaithersburg High School. His story, “Insignificance in the Two Thousand Nineties,” does a pretty good job with the future — his late 21st century teen views images of new clothes on his computer and pays for them via direct deduction from his bank account. When he needs to arrange some travel, he “telecomms” to make a plane and hotel reservation. Count against Ostrow that the reservation is from Pan Am. And it’s to the moon.

Best line in this story: “Just then a robot came in with what was to be his lunch.”

Tagged , , ,

One thought on “The superintendent’s writing awards, Adam Ostrow, and me

  1. Adam Ostrow says:

    Just came across this post on Twitter, and I think you’ve got a different Adam Ostrow. I didn’t go to Gaithersburg High … I grew up in New York (though, I did go to school at The University of Maryland) and wasn’t a sophomore in high school until 1998 :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 577 other followers

