My name is Blossom, I was raised in a lion’s den

Blossom Dearie is dead at 82.

I am not the kind of person who has opinions about jazz.  But there are a few things I think I’ll never tire of hearing:  “Well You Needn’t,” “So What,” and just about anything sung and played by Blossom Dearie.  If it is possible at all to belt out a song delicately, it was possible only for her.  Mrs. Q and I were lucky enough to see her play once, probably around 2000, in the strange Thai restaurant / jazz club that served as her regular stage in New York.

Here she performs the Dave Frishberg classic “I’m Hip” (no video)

A TV appearance, singing “Surrey with the Fringe on the Top”:

And what might be her most famous vocal performance, “Figure Eight” from Schoolhouse Rock:

Tagged , , ,

5 thoughts on “My name is Blossom, I was raised in a lion’s den

  1. David says:

    You know, “Unpack Your Adjectives” has been stuck in my head for years, but I never realized why until now. What a voice.

  2. JSE says:

    I dreamed the other night that I was listening to this song but the lyrics had been changed to “Unpack Your Axioms.”

  3. Anonymous says:

    My mathematical taste is very similar to yours, and yet my taste in music appears to be the complete opposite. Are these facts predictive at all on whether or not I will like your taste in books (or, for that matter, hamburgers)?

  4. JSE says:

    I think your taste in both music and burgers is more elevated than mine. Whereas in books, as in math, I like to think that my taste is already reasonably high-culture — so maybe my judgment can be trusted in that arena?

  5. Anonymous (3) says:

    On the other hand, you certainly read much more than I do, and it is reasonable to suppose that your taste in books is more refined than mine. But I wonder how taste in novels correlates (if at all) to taste in art.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 560 other followers

