In which I like a bit of hip-hop vernacular as much as the next man

IMG_0148Home from the UK.  I like reading the British newspaper for the pleasure of encountering sentences that read, to my American ear, like something an American would write in an attempt to sound droll and British.  Two from yesterday’s Evening Standard:

“Olympia Haralambous, 16, scored 10 A* grades despite being hit in the head with a rounders bat the day before her first exam.”

“I like a bit of hip-hop vernacular as much as the next man.”

These are funniest when read aloud in a plummy British newsreader accent.

I was also going to compliment the United Kingdom on the ready availability of steak-flavored potato chips, except that as it turns out these tasted nothing at all like steak.

Tagged , , , ,

9 thoughts on “In which I like a bit of hip-hop vernacular as much as the next man

  1. Eric Hsu says:

    I love the British meat flavor snacks. Steak chips, chicken flavor…

    Also the ready availability of black current (cassis) sodas…

  2. Toby Gee says:

    Sorry, muddling my tags.

  3. Toby Gee says:

    (I give up.)

  4. JSE says:

    But does it actually taste like squirrel?

  5. Toby Gee says:

    So I am told, although I have never had squirrel or these crisps. The other crisps in that range do taste as advertised – it was somehow big news when they launched that they’d worked out how to do proper flavours, I guess.

  6. Dirty Davey says:

    I’ve actually seen steak-flavored chips over here–I think it was Snyders of Hanover, but I can’t swear to that. They offer lots of really strange flavors that never appear in the store but somehow make it into the snack dispensing machines of the world.

  7. Xander Faber says:

    I’m a little behind the curve here — having not been keeping up with the blog — but I should mention a couple of entertaining flavors of potato chip that can be acquired in Montreal. One has

    All Dressed and

    Ketchup

  8. JSE says:

    I’ve had ketchup potato chips and they’re terrific. It could well have been in Montreal!

    What do “All Dressed” taste like?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 580 other followers

