Mountain Goats have sold out the High Noon

Nothing ever sells out here. I’m proud of Madison. And looking forward to the start of the show.

Update. Home from the show.  A few notes.

  • JD is an interesting guitar player but a boring piano player.
  • I don’t think I’ve seen him play with a full band since, I dunno, 2004?  I like the rocking-out full-band Mountain Goats better than the hushed one-guy-with-guitar Mountain Goats.  But best of all I like the rocking-out one-guy-with-guitar Mountain Goats.
  • So I have a theory that the correct way to listen to Mountain Goats music is not to play the record, or to see him perform, but to play the songs on guitar in your room by yourself.  Given this you’d think I’d approve of the many people singing along at this show, but I did not.  It was annoying.
  • John Darnielle and Persi Diaconis do the same oversized “I’ve won this crowd over” grin.
  • Opener was Final Fantasy, kind of like Andrew Bird if instead of one guy he was two guys.  Violin guy Owen Pallett backed up JD for a sort of great pizzicatified “Going to Bristol,” the only old number on the setlist.
  • Songs I thought I might hear and was sad not to hear:  “Palmcorder Yajna,” “The Best Ever Death Metal Band Out of Denton.”  Songs I knew I wouldn’t hear:  “Sinaloan Milk Snake Song.”  “Deianara Crush.”  “The Monkey Song.” “Going to Marrakesh.”
  • Looking through the Wikipedia Mountain Goats pages I’m amused to find my own name, credited with translating the Swedish phrases in the liner notes to Sweden.  I didn’t translate them but I did get them translated, by the Swedish guy who ran the Calla Lily Cafe, where Cathy O’Neil and I used to study Milne’s article on abelian varieties every morning when we were in grad school.
  • I was going to link to a Mountain Goats track here, but something he played made me think of another song I really love: “Radio Silence,” the single from Soviet rock god Boris Grebenshikov’s unsuccessful 1989 attempt to break into the English-language alternative pop market.  He should have made it!
Tagged , ,

3 thoughts on “Mountain Goats have sold out the High Noon

  1. Toby Gee says:

    I’m more of a solo Mountain Goats (or duo) fan, myself – I think the two full-band shows I’ve seen were the worst. Also, I don’t know that the songs you knew you wouldn’t hear was accurate (in some sense); e.g. I’ve seen the Monkey Song performed in the last few years (I didn’t know it at the time and it blew me away).

  2. JSE says:

    Good point: I wouldn’t have expected to hear “Going to Bristol,” that’s for sure. And I sort of forgot that “Hand Ball” was from one of the miscy singles comps.

  3. Fun fact I learned from Wikipedia: Boris Grebenshikov has a degree in applied mathematics. So the next time I’m asked what one can do with a math degree the answer will be “become a Soviet rock god, if only there was a Soviet Union anymore”. Regardless, Grebenshikov joins actor Felica Day (Vi on Buffy S7) on my list of cool people who oddly happen to have math degrees. Now if I could only get Radio Silence out from being stuck in of my head…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 546 other followers

