In which I try to find a way to follow the Orioles without crying

Does anybody know who the best prospect in baseball is, just in case somebody you know might have first pick in the 2011 draft?  Somebody who seemed finally, after years of self-sabotage, to be turning things around and doing things right, but who can’t catch a break and seems hated by the powers above?  Oh, wait, I forgot, I was supposed to do this without crying.

Anyway, per baseballrumormill it’s Rice 3B Anthony Rendon.  Well, the last time we drafted a slugging 3B it worked out all right.

Sorry, my mistake, the last time we drafted a slugging 3B it was Bill Rowell, who’s currently hitting .236 in his third year of A ball.

No, I’m fine, I just got something in my eye.

Tagged , , , ,

5 thoughts on “In which I try to find a way to follow the Orioles without crying

  1. Jeff says:

    At least they’re not the Cubs, who have taken 3rd or 4th talent in the first round twice in the past 5 years.

  2. Jeff says:

    3rd or 4th *round* talent, I should have said

  3. Brad says:

    I have wondered for year how you still get excited for the Orioles. When Shana I were first engaged, the Orioles were in the playoffs vs. the Yankees. Since then, they have not really come close. Shana and I have been married a long time…

  4. JSE says:

    Despite my complaints, the Orioles have always been a fun team to root for. Certainly I’d think it would be less fun to cheer for somebody like the Yankees, Red Sox, Braves, or Mets, who always seem to have a lot of marquee talent but most of the time sort of fizzle. If I had to pick a team in each league I think it would be really fun to be a fan of, maybe the Phillies and the Twins?

  5. Steve says:

    Twins fans tend to hate the place they have to go to see their team play home games. Not fun.

    I’m starting to think that the Orioles are converging on the Minnesota Lynx.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 560 other followers

