Proof school: it’s not just for math kids anymore

A while back I complained, I hope good-naturedly, about Proof School’s self-description as “a school just for math kids.”  A little Ravi told me that the website has since been revamped, and the new version, with tagline “For kids who love math,” is much more to my liking.  The phrase “math kids” is still around, but I think it presents them (us?) as less of a separate species, and more of an tribe bound by common culture:

By “math kids” we mean children who are truly talented and passionate about math. We say we’re looking for students who are internally pulled by math, not externally pushed into it. Of course, math kids have many interests beyond math or computer science–it’s more just a term of convenience and endearment, really–not an absolute. Almost a nickname. If you know any math kids, you know what we mean. Maybe you were one, once, too.

I’m OK with this!

I will say, though, that 6 occurrences of the words “passion” or “passionate” in the FAQ is too many.

Tagged

3 thoughts on “Proof school: it’s not just for math kids anymore

  1. TG says:

    A little Ravi?

  2. Rob H. says:

    Jordan often walks around with a little Ravi on his shoulder.

  3. Local Fields says:

    Not sure about what “truly talented” means. I’m passionate about math, but don’t think I’m “truly talented”. Will they take me?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 322 other followers

