“Why don’t books come with e-books?” revisited

Last year I wondered why print books didn’t come bundled with e-books.  Today Amazon announced Matchbook:  for a limited add-on price, ranging from nothing to $3, you can get e-books of print books you’ve previously bought from Amazon.

At least for me, this is a substantial incentive to buy books there.  But I think my use case is kind of weird:  I bought a Kindle but don’t like it and never use it, and read e-books almost exclusively on the phone.  For me, “the book I’m reading” is almost always a print book, while the phone is for reading random bits of things a few minutes at a time.  But it would be nice indeed to have the print book at home enhanced with the option of reading a few pages by phone over the course of the day.

Leave a Reply

