I looked at him good

From a US Senate investigation, Reports of the Committee on the Conduct of the War, concerning the Fort Pillow Massacre, which I had never heard of until today.

Question. Did you see any buildings burned?

Answer. I staid in the woods all day Wednesday. I was there Thursday and looked at the buildings. I saw a great deal left that they did not have a chance to burn up. I saw a white man burned up who was nailed up against the house.

Question. A private or an officer?

Answer. An officer; I think it was a lieutenant in the Tennessee cavalry.

Question. How was he nailed?

Answer. Through his hands and feet right against the house.

Question. Was his body burned?

Answer. Yes, sir; burned all over—I looked at him good.

And this:

Question. We have heard rumors that some of these persons were buried alive; did you hear anything about that?

Answer. I have two in the hospital here who were buried alive.

Question. Both colored men?

Answer. Yes, sir.

Question. How did they escape?

Answer. One of them I have not conversed with personally, the other I have. He was thrown into a pit, as he states, with a great many others, white and black, several of whom were alive; they were all buried up together. He lay on the outer edge, but his head was nearer the surface; he had one well hand, and with that hand he was able to work a place through which he could breathe, and in that way he got his head out; he lay there for some twenty-four hours, and was finally taken out by somebody. The others, next to him, were buried so deep that they could not get out, and died.

Tagged

One thought on “I looked at him good

  1. Joshua says:

    As a kid, I was really into the Civil War, but still had only heard about this recently as well.
    I’m curious how you found out about it.

    On a list of recommended books, I saw “Life of General Nathan Bedford Forrest by John Wyeth” and was immediately taken aback. “Wasn’t he one of the KKK founders?” I thought.

    Not certain, I turned to wikipedia for enlightenment. While Forrest (probably) wasn’t a founder of the KKK, it seems he was close and has responsibility for plenty of misdeeds (like Fort Pillow).

    What, then, to conclude about someone who recommends a book that, from amazon reviews, appears to be a hagiography of Forrest? Don’t bother answering, it isn’t such a hard question.

Leave a Reply

