Erotische Flugblaetter

I was working in Memorial Library yesterday. Whenever I’m over there, I like to pull a book off the shelf and look at it.  (E.G.) I feel I have some kind of duty to the books — there are so many which will never be taken off the shelf again!

Anyway, there has never been an easier choice than Flugblatt-Propaganda Im 2.Weltkrieg:  Erotische Flugblätter.  How was I not supposed to look at that!  And I was richly rewarded.  The Nazi propagandists knew their business; the leaflets are written in perfect colloquial English, assuring American troops that the US government is purposely prolonging the war to keep unemployment low at home, that their kids and wives are pleading for them to come home alive by any means necessary (especially:  surrendering and riding out the rest of the war in a comfy German POW camp, with movies, sports, and the same food the German soldiers get) and, most of all, that their girlfriends back home, tired of waiting, are taking up with draft-dodgers and war-profiteers (especially the ruthless “Sam Levy.”)  UK troops got their own version:  their girlfriends weren’t making time with shifty Jews, but with US soldiers, who were “training” in England while the British men died at the front.

Some highlights:

photo 3 photo 2 photo 1

Tagged , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Erotische Flugblaetter

  1. The more things change, the more they remain the same…… Fascinating find, Jordan. I applaud you for being in the stacks of the library, looking at books and even reading them.

    Helena

  2. Kevin says:

    “The more things change, the more they remain the same…”

    What do you mean?

  3. Leila says:

    That would be hilarious if it weren’t, well, so Nazi. What a good time Sam Levy must have been having, though!

  4. Nick Addington says:

    I only just noticed that Sam Levy is a stereotypically Jewish name… Grim.

  5. Nick Addington says:

    I see you tagged it “anti-semitism” so I’m a few steps behind.

  6. Joshua says:

    I guess my German is very rusty, but, from these pages, “erotisch” doesn’t seem to mean what I thought it would mean.

Leave a Reply

